top of page
Order My Cookbook 
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts

Brazilian Fricassee

This is a favorite dish of my husbands and my sisters. Typically it's made with cream and chicken, but I wanted to be able to eat this Brazilian dish myself. So I figured out how to make it plant-based.


Instead of chicken I use heart of palm, which is a Brazilian staple as well. The flavor of heart of palm is mild, but has a great texture, so it's a great replacement for chicken. Instead of using cream in the dish I found that using vegan sour cream and almond milk is a great alternative.


It's a simple recipe and easy to make, so let's get started!




Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 can heart of palm, sliced

  • 1 large onion, chopped

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

  • 2 (15.25oz) cans Kernel corn

  • 10 green olives, pitted and sliced

  • 8oz vegan sour cream

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened or original non-dairy milk (I use original almond milk)

  • 1 cup vegetable broth

  • Salt to taste

  • 2 cups Potato Sticks (or Regular Potato Chips if you can't find them)

  • 1 cups shredded vegan cheese


Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

  • In a blender, add 1 can of Kernel corn, the sour cream, the almond milk and the vegetable broth and blend until smooth. Reserve.

  • In a large skillet, add the olive oil and sauté the chopped onion until translucent, on medium heat.

  • Add the sliced heart of palm and let it fry for a minute or two.

  • Add the 2nd can of corn, the olives and, finally, the blended cream mixture. Cook until everything is incorporated and you have a creamy consistency. About 5 minutes.

  • Pour the mixture into a casserole dish (I used a 13" X 9" lasagna dish).

  • Cover with a layer of vegan cheese. Bake it in the oven until the cheese melts (10 to 15 minutes).

  • Top it with the potato sticks.

  • Serve over rice!
















Comentarios


Search By Tags
bottom of page